66th Annual Convention ng PhilAAST; Health benefits of “Sapal” PhilAAST 2017 basic research awardee and CNTV: The rise of a Taipan in Prime Time Free TV

66th Annual Convention ng Philippine Association for the Advancement of Science and Technology at International Symposium on Research Translation na may temang Pagsasalin ng pagsasaliksik sa patakaran at gawa.

Apat na mga mananaliksik ang ginawaran kabilang sina Dr.Trinidad P. Trinidad na may pagsasaliksik ukol sa buko at mga properties nito na maaring makagamot sa colon cancer at diabetes.

Kabilang din sa mga binigyan ng parangal ay si Dr.Maria Patricia V. Azanza, Director ng Industrial Technology Development Institute (ITDI) ang mga nilikha niyang inobasyon sa canned rice ay bahagi pang disaster, pang military food, at extension ng shelf life.

Ang mga pagsasaliksik ni Dr. Rosario Angeles Alora ay ukol sa bioethics, mga desisyong dapat gawin kung na naisasa alang alang ang buhay ng tao. ang ika apat na awardee ay si Dr Jose Lastimosa Bacusmo na may mga pagsasaliksik ukol sa jackfruit atbp. Nakatakdang ganapin ang Phil AAST symposium ngayong September 21 to 23 sa Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay City.

ang PhilAAST ay pinangunahan ng National Academy of Science and Technology, Department of Science and Technology, kasama sina Dr. Jaime Montoya, ng Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD) ang kasalukuyang Pangulo ng PhilAAST at Enrg Edgar Garcia ng Technology Applications and Promotion Institute

Ang kasalukuyang Kalihim ng Department of Science and Technology na si Prof Fortunato T. dela Pena ay ang dating Pangulo ng PhilAAST///michael N. Balaguer, 09333816694, michaelbalaguer@diaryongtagalog.net


Health bebefits of “Sapal” bagged the PhilAAST 2017 basic research award

Pasay City- the sapal or coconut pulp that is usually consider as trash in wet and dry markets has made tremendous impact through the brilliant research made by one of the winner in the Gregorio Y. Zara Award in Basic Science Research given to Dr. Trinidad P. Trinidad at the 66th Annual Convention of the Philippine Association for the Advancement of Science and Technology and International Symposium on Research Translation with the theme “ Translating Research into Policy and Practice” which co organize by the National Academy of Science and Technology ( NAST).

Since 2016 up to present with President Dr. Jaime C. Montoya also Director of Philippine Council for Health and Research Development, DOST; Dr. Reynaldo V. Ebora as Vice President in Division A (Agricultural Sciences ) also ad Executive Director of Philippine Council for Agriculture and Aquatic and Natural Resources Research and Development ( PCAARRD), Dr. Ester B. Orgena as Vice President in Division B ( Economics & Social Sciences), Dr. Eva C. Cutiongco- dela Paz as Vice President in Division C ( Medical and Biological Sciences), Dr. Corazon A. Menguito as Vice President in Division D (Chemistry, Physics & Mathematics), Dr. Benjamin S. Austria as Vice President in Division E (Geography & Earth Sciences), Dr. Alvin B. Culaba as Vice President in Division F ( Engineering & Industrial Sciences), Dr. Reynaldo E. De la Cruz as Vice President in Division G ( Environmental Sciences), Engr. Alex S.E. Sy as Vice President in Division H (Information Technology), Atty. Froilan A. Bagabaldo as Secretary and Director, Ms. Maria F. Tela as Assistant Secretary, Dr. Christina A. Binag as Treasurer & Director, Ms. Fe M. Sison ad Assistant Treasurer, Dr. Sonia Y. De Leon, Engr Edgar I. Garcia ad Director also Director of Technology Application and Promotion Institute ( TAPI), Dr. Diana L. Ignacio ad Director, Dr. Luningning S. Domingo, Dr. Ponciano Halis as Adviser, Dr. Fortunato B. Sevilla lll ad Adviset, Engr. Lydia G. Tansinsin ad Adviser and former President from 2010- 2016 Prof. Fortunato T. de la Peña, Secretary of Department of Science and Technology ( DOST).

The biggest challenge faced by researchers is to have their researches translated into policy and how business and industry can benefit from them.

As nutrition scientist, Dr Trinidad discovered anti-diabetic properties of coconut sugar and anti-colon cancer property throu the coconut pulp commonly known as sapal.

In an interview on www.diaryongtagalog.net to Dr. Trinidad’s at a press conference associated with the event she says that any variety of coconut can be use but according to her studies it’s the tall variety used for copra or the typical tall coconut.

Another awardee present were; Dr. Maria Patricia V. Azanza in Gregorio Y. Zara for Applied Science Research Awardee with utility model patents including canned rice technology, extruded meat extenders and analogs comprising stabilized cereal brans, retrogradation resistant shelf stable cooked rice, extruded biomaterials with brans and plant fibers as dispersed phase fillers extrusion technology. (MJ Olvina-Balaguer, 09053611058, maryjaneolvina@gmail.com )


CNTV: The rise of a Taipan in Prime Time Free TV

Manila- Taipans are considered to be the leaders in business and entrepreneurship here in the country, and they are successful Chinese-Filipino.

Hence a new “Taipan” will rise over primetime free television with an Exclusive Special Preview during the Chinatown TV launched “CNTV” at the Winford Hotel and Casino recently. Of the 16 year of being the first Trilingual Filipino-Chinese News.

This coming October the program will be aired over weekdays ( Monday to Friday) 7:00- 7:30 in the morning at Net 25. The 30 minute news format will be in Mandarin Chinese in the country’s current events while in International news will be a combination of Mandarin, English and Filipino.

Executive Producer Lolita S. Ching together with her daughter Louella Ching as Producer of both Chinatown TV and CNTV.

The Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China to the Philippines H.E. Zhao Jianhua grace the ceremony. Some other personalities present were the following: Atty. Salvador Panelo- Presidential Chief Legal Council, Congressman Harry & Naida Angping, Vice President George Chiu- Federation of Filipino- Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry Inc. (FFCCCII), Chairman Tan Ching- Overseas Chinese Service Center, President William Yap- Chinese Filipino Business Club, Dr. Alfonso Siy- FFCCCII Honorary Chairman, Stephen Technico- Federation of Filipino Chinese Association of the Philippines Honorary Chairman, Executive Vice President Nelson Guevarra- Philippine Eastern China Amnity Club, Wilson Lee Flores owner Kamuning Bakery Café and Filipino- Chinese Journalist, Suen Ming- Overseas Chinese Alumni Association of the Philippines, President Margarita Go- Chiang Kai Shek College Alumni Association, CEO Olivoa Limpe- Aw- Asian Dragon Magazine, Fei Long Wang and CEO Demry Cheng of Philippine Dragon Media Network.

The news anchors composed of the following: Candice Tan, Wesley Chua, Monica Shi, Demry Cheng, Ricky Sun, Jin Chen, Michelle Pan and others.

Chinese language news are not new to Philippine Broadcasting, they had been there even in the 70’s and early 80’s, some attribute it to the convergence of culture because since the time of the European colonial powers Chinese culture are part of the mainstream Filipino Society.( MJ Olvina- Balaguer, 09053611058, maryjaneolvina@gmail.com)