The search for The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awardees 2019 has ended with the joint announcement of the winners by TOFIL 2019 Awards National Chairman JCI Sen. Melandrew T. Velasco and Board of Judges Chairman Supreme Court Administrator Justice Jose Midas Marquez.
San Miguel Corporation’s President and Chief Executive Officer Ramon S. Ang leads five other winners as they join the roster of TOFIL awardees since 1988 when the TOFIL Awards was institutionalized. Joining Ang are: Glenn S. Banaguas (Environment Conservation and Science Diplomacy); Dr. Joselito R. Chavez (Medicine); Virgilio L. Malang (Science and Technology); Legazpi City Mayor Noel E. Rosal (Government/Public Service); and Nelly Siababa-Aggangan (Agriculture).
Ang, who was chosen for his exemplary contributions to nation-building in the field of business/entrepreneurship, steered San Miguel Corporation into what it is today–a diversified business conglomerate involved in banking, bulk water, cement, food, infrastructure, oil, property, and transport industries.
Under his leadership, SMC has ventured into projects that benefitted the marginalized—giving back to the community—under its corporate social responsibility programs.
He has been designated to deliver a Response and Acceptance speech on behalf of all the 2019 TOFIL awardees during the awarding ceremonies on December 2, 2019 at the Manila Hotel.
The winners will each receive a trophy designed and executed by National Artist for Visual Arts Napoleon Abueva. The TOFIL trophy is a 27-inch trophy of irregular polygonal form symbolizing the many sidedness of human endeavor, and its gradual narrowing top represents the pinnacle of achievement. Its wide base reflects solidity of purpose.
Aside from Justice Marquez, the members of the Board of Judges are TOFIL Foundation Chairman JCI Sen. Rogelio “Bicbic” Garcia, JCISP President Domingo “Jun” O. Roque, Jr.; 2010 TOFIL Awardee Shirley Halili Cruz; and PCCI Chairman Emeritus Dr. Francis Chua.
The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awards was conceived in 1988 to institutionalize public recognition of men and women, 41years and over, whose exemplary achievements are worthy of emulation.
JCI Senate Philippines undertook the project first in collaboration with the Insular Life. The partnership lasted until 2014. Today, the project is being undertaken in cooperation with ANSA Foundation led by President Philip Nocom, as JCISP’s institutional partner since 2016.